2018 Annual Report

Our Business

Our Organization

The Municipal Electric Authority of Georgia (MEAG Power) is a non-profit public corporation that was chartered by the Georgia General Assembly in 1975. MEAG Power generates and transmits reliable, competitively-priced wholesale electric power to 49 communities across the state.

Our Participants

The MEAG Power member communities listed here offer businesses and residents not only power that is more than 65% emissions-free, they also provide the many benefits of a public power electric utility. These include locally-set rates, customized solutions, high reliability and prompt, community-centered service. Most importantly, the revenue generated by the utility is reinvested in the community rather than distributed to remote stockholders.

Many of these hometowns have fully-integrated public utilities, offering not only electricity but also natural gas, water and sewer services, and fiber or digital communication connections. Moreover, these MEAG Power communities have educated, skilled labor; excellent logistics; advantageous development zones, leading-edge industrial parks and vibrant downtowns with everything important to quality of life, such as concerts and youth sports.

MEAG Power member communities:

  • Acworth
  • Adel
  • Albany
  • Barnesville
  • Blakely
  • Brinson
  • Buford
  • Cairo
  • Calhoun
  • Camilla
  • Cartersville
  • College Park
  • Commerce
  • Covington
  • Crisp County
  • Doerun
  • Douglas
  • East Point
  • Elberton
  • Ellaville
  • Fairburn
  • Fitzgerald
  • Forsyth
  • Fort Valley
  • Grantville
  • Griffin
  • Hogansville
  • Jackson
  • LaFayette
  • LaGrange
  • Lawrenceville
  • Mansfield
  • Marietta
  • Monroe
  • Monticello
  • Moultrie
  • Newnan
  • Norcross
  • Oxford
  • Palmetto
  • Quitman
  • Sandersville
  • Sylvania
  • Sylvester
  • Thomaston
  • Thomasville
  • Washington
  • West Point
  • Whigham

Corporate Information

  • MEAG PowerMunicipal Electric Authority of Georgia
  • Office 1470 Riveredge Parkway, NW
    Atlanta, GA 30328-4640
  • Bond Counsel Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
    New York, NY
  • Financial Advisor Public Financial Management, Inc.
    Philadelphia, PA
  • Trustees Project One, General Resolution
    Projects and Combined Cycle Project
    The Bank of New York Mellon
    New York, NY
    Vogtle Units 3&4 Projects Wells Fargo Bank, National
    Association Atlanta, GA
  • Independent Auditors PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
    Atlanta, GA